Chicago Day 3: The Bean & The Art Institute of Chicago

A little cloudy today, but it was so warm that I didn’t even need my leather jacket! Woah, I hope everyday was like this from now in Columbus too. Today, we went over to see the Bean sculpture. Our plan was to go see it on the first day, but unfortunately, it was closed temporary on St. Patrick’s Day. We had to come back sometimes before we left, and today was it.

Anish Kapoor is one of the artists I look upon, and I was thrilled to encounter one of his sculptures in real life! The sculpture has a very interesting disfigured perspective on the surface, which is one of the iconic characteristics that it is best known for. But I think it is actually the inside of the bean that reflects the use of this metal material and skewed perspectives. When you stand exactly below the center, you will see multiples of yourself (I counted and there are at least 6 doppelgänger!). It’s as if you have entered a parallel world, or better yet a 5th dimension world! Such a magical world.

The rest of the day was spent in the Art Institute of Chicago – and of course, we spent till the closing time to see as much as possible. The museum had a clean and sophisticated look throughout. I loved the use of glass door and the creek of wooden floor; so much history is contained not only through the artworks, but the through the architecture itself. Their collection reaches out to voluminous genres of art, including cultural specific ones and to contemporary architecture. I need to go back their one day to see everything! Other than that, I did get lost multiple times in there. The structure is a little hard to figure out (for me at least…has anyone got lost in there before?).

That aside, reflecting back on my photography…I feel like my travel and street photography skill has degraded compared to the winter backpacker trip. Sigh. I really am not satisfied at the quality I have been producing these past three days. Perhaps I am lacking practices. I will have to figure out it soon.

Leave a comment