Project Process 2/12

This week, I continued editing photographs of jolly ranchers from last week. There are so many that I needed to go back more than once to see which was compositionally and visually better than others. In addition to images from the last previous, here are some more of the photographs that I found evoking:

Just like I mentioned a little in the previous post, the visual style is very different. Just by looking at the images, it is obvious that the wet surfaced version appear more gross than others. The egg white on the hand especially helps the aesthetic through its thick jelly-like texture. On top of that, the jelly ranchers literally melts in there, breaking apart into goos.

The overall images reminds me of the chemicals found in human digestive system. More specifically, I keep imagining the stomach and how everything dissolves into simple elements. Not only are the chemicals sucking energy out of the jolly rancher, but it seems to be slowly dissolving the hand, as well. In the context of sugar consumption, I feel this style is different from the first series, but still sticks to the overarching theme of sugar consumption. And what if I change the background progressively through the series? That might be something I will consider later.

On the other hand, the images with the drier surface with tiny bits of jolly rancher are rather pretty and cute. The colors of jolly rancher are pastel, and this is what mostly gives a party-like, happy tonality. They are eye-catching on their own, but I have to say they don’t fit very well with the other photos because of its aesthetic. The candies doesn’t emerge out of the skin, and furthermore appear more like glass pieces. I don’t think this stye is going to work.

I also shot jolly rancher like the world’s most expensive mineral.  These candies are bigger chunks of smashed jolly rancher which I was unable to minimize them further. I suddenly realized that they could be seen as minerals in a way, so I simply decided to shoot some. This was definitely a quick inspirational activity, but I thought I leave the result here:

Surprisingly, the jolly rancher look very much like minerals! I showed these images to several people from different majors, and they all were amazed to discover the true identity of these gems. The black background especially present the jolly ranchers as luxurious rare material that are housed in museums, while the white background presents them like a high quality diamond. I’m not sure where this is going to lead, but I think it has some potential.

Leave a Reply

