Project Process 2/5

More jolly rancher time!

From the previous shoots, I learned couple things about jolly rancher. One of the obvious findings overcrowding and cluttered texture when colored sprinkles are added. Jolly ranchers themselves are in diverse colors, so naturally, when another layers of rainbow colors join in the club, it becomes overwhelming. Plus, the white sugar desaturates the bright intense hue created by artificial colorings. I want to focus solely on the sugar food, and I don’t think the addition of white sugar and colored sprinkles worked very well.

Another discovery is that clenching the hand into fist doesn’t work in the case of jolly rancher. Some of the jolly rancher clusters are too big that many fall apart instead of moving upwards on the surface.

During this shoot, I was careful to show more palm instead of covering the hand entirely with the sugar and jolly rancher. I know I have been contemplating about this since the last semester. Both revealing and covering the palm makes sense in the context of what I am doing. Exposing the skin lets the viewer recognized the surface while experiencing the image, while covering the palm raises questions as to what the surface is. Right now, I feel strongly that these photographs are much more about the interaction between the sugar food and the hand. To do so, the skin needs to be shown visually along with the sugar and sugar food.

I also did 3 different versions: a) re-trying white sugar + jolly; b) just jolly; and c) just jolly with dryer surface and smaller pieces. Here are the results:

a) re-try white sugar + jolly rancher

b) jolly rancher (wetter surface)

c) jolly rancher (drier surface) + smaller pieces of jolly rancher

Overall, I feel like the jolly rancher is better off by itself. No white sugar, no color sprinkles, and no glitters for assistance. In addition, it gets more difficult to expose the skin when the sugar and jolly rancher piles up on top of each other. The layer became thicker and thicker to an extent where it was unnatural if I tried to scrap some parts of it. There are also many concave and convex surfaces. When all the photographs come together as one series, I think it’s clear enough that sugar is the main overarching theme throughout the photographs.

So far I’m liking both the wetness around the jolly rancher, and the detailed movements created by the tiny pieces of jolly rancher. The wet version particularly keeps the disgustingly beautiful style. They appear very different from the previous sugared hand, but the image size, the palm, and the sugar connects them pretty well. Though I do notice that the egg white becomes a little bit of an annoyance, especially when the light reflects off of it. It should be an easy fix in Photoshop. Also, I probably have to re-evaluate the chocolate chip cookies since that series was shot with white sugar.

While I was crushing the jolly rancher into smaller pieces, I realized how some of the larger chunks resemble minerals. Their form and surface textures are very similar to quartz when looked closely. The colors are of course too unnatural and vibrant to exist in the natural world:

File_000(3)

I wonder…if I shoot these pieces on a black background ,in a way the museum does for it archival system, would they mimic minerals much more? Perhaps the jolly rancher will appear much more luxurious and rare. Or maybe if a scientific label is placed in front of them, will the pieces conflict with what they truly are? I sense irony here, but I’m not sure if it is working. I’ll shoot couple photographs to see how this imagery will work.

Leave a Reply

