Sugared Hand Cont.

Since the group critiques, I have been shooting couple sugared hands. The hands are from various models. I probably said this in the previous post, but I really am liking the direction this project has taken.There are just so many intriguing factors that I am attracted to in these photographs! The textures of the sugars changes depending on the sugars’ wetness, the colors of the sugar sprinkles pop brightly yet melts into the sugar smoothly, and above all, the skin peeking through the cluster of sugars is simply gross ( yet also kind of cool). But visually, these factors create appealing image. Oh, and I can’t forget the shiny highlights the sugar reflects off the light. That is what makes everything bright and pretty, just like candies and sweets are. They are cute little jewels.

Through the shoots, I found some issues that I have to be aware of. In one of my shoot, the sugar appeared very dry (looked at the first image of the gallery below). It was to the extent where the sugar started to resemble more like salt. Perhaps that’s because it looks much whiter and chunkier. Visually, the texture is interesting, but I was bothered by how much changes the moisture created. The dryness removes the shines and becomes very flat. I think it’s missing that bumpy, uneven surface that allowed it to simulate crystal-like texture. To solve this, I sprayed water onto the surface. Sugar dissolves in water easily, so simply applying water makes the sugar reflective (the second and third photo had more shine).

I also need to be careful of how thick the sugar layers become. Especially in the center photo below, the sugar coat is so thick that the skin becomes invisible. You can barely see the skin underneath since the layers isn’t translucent at all. I do like the variations these kinds provide though. As long as other photographs in the series show a hint of skin’s presence, I feel like there could be one where the layer is thick. But, in this case, the thickness probably went too far… Extra attention needs to be paid so that the skin is slightly visible and recognizable.

I went extra step to see what happens when the composition changes. Instead of filling the frame with sugared part on the palm, what if the curves and the outlines of the fingers/hands are shown? This would give more hint to the audiences about how the sugar is pasted onto the skin…at the same time, I don’t want the composition to be too distracting. The images below are some experimentations I did with composition. So far, the background color is too loud. Toning it down to desaturated hues or using nude color might be better. I do enjoy the ones where the hand is less obvious (e.g. the second and fourth). Still need to consider this.

I’m going to continue shooting sugared hands till I hit the limit. Alongside, I’m also going to add sugary food crumbles (e.g. cookies, icing) to see how that will work out.

Leave a Reply

